Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Recently, I came upon a recipe over at The Kitchn for a very delicious looking Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread. This recipe looked amazing. I lusted after it. I drooled over it. I considered trading my firstborn child to the gods of processed sugars so that I could have just one bite.

Somehow, I resisted the siren song of that recipe and didn’t dive face first into all that sugar, but day after day, the thought of that recipe has haunted me. It calls to me. I dream about it. I want it. GIVE IT TO ME NOW.

I’m a firm believer that when cravings are that strong, you should give in to them… Preferably with a few swaps to make the choice a little bit healthier. In this spirit, I’ve been attempting to paleo-ify this recipe for the past two weeks. I’ve tried several different variations and had more kitchen mishaps than I’d like to admit (my sweet roommate has been so nice about trying each of these breads and telling me they weren’t awful, when, in fact, they really were the worst.) After much experimentation, though, I have a delicious and really not awful recipe to share with you! It is rich and chocolatey and moist (gross word, tasty results!) and full of sneaky vegetables. You can get away with eating a slice of this stuff for breakfast or with your afternoon coffee or for dessert. Even better news: this recipe comes together in 5 minutes in the blender. #winning

Give in to your cravings, friends, you won’t regret it!

What? I'm eating my veggies!

What? I’m eating my veggies!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c Almond Flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Baking powder
  • 3 Eggs
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 Ripe Banana, mashed
  • 1 c (1 small to medium) Zucchini (scrape out the seeds)
  • 1/4 c Coconut Oil melted
  • 1/3 c Cocoa Powder
  • 2 tbsp Almond Butter
  • 1/2 c Chopped Pecans or Walnuts (optional)
  • 1/2 dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% cocoa, because that was the option available at my Kroger. If you can get a higher cocoa percentage or fewer additives, that would be better. Ideally, you just want cocoa powder, cocoa butter and a natural sweetener).

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and use parchment paper to line bread pan (or else grease the pan well with coconut oil).
  2. Use a blender to grate the zucchini and banana.
  3. Add in other wet ingredients and blend until well combined.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients (except chocolate chups and nuts). Mix in wet ingredients until well combined. Alternatively, you could jus add the dry ingredients straight to the blender. You have to watch for clumping (no one wants a clump of baking powder in their food), but I’ve done this and the bread was still delish.
  5. Mix in chocolate chunks and nuts (if using).
  6. Pour batter in greased pan and bake for 1 hour, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.
  7. Serve with a drizzle of honey, coconut whipped cream, raspberries and/or a dusting of cocoa powder, cinnamon and red pepper (sounds weird, tastes good), or just eat it plain!

4 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Leave a comment